RSS Feed

Love Letters

Posted on

For a long time now I have had an idea to show the people I love how much they mean to me by writing a letter. I think that it is a mistake to assume that the people we are close to must know how we feel about them and it doesn’t hurt to let them know once in a while.

Now, I have no problems saying “I love you” and I will use it abundantly when I mean it. I definitely will not say it if it isn’t true, for example as a reply to someone else’s declaration of love. Why is it so hard to hear someone say “I love you” and not say it back? It feels so mean and unkind, but for me it is better to be honest with them and yourself. Please note, this kind of situation is purely hypothetical, I am not inundated with confessions of love.

Love Letters

Is this how you write love letters?

I hope those dear to me have heard me tell them that I love them. Maybe it’s a British thing, but I tend not to have many discussions about my relationships with the person in question. Hence my idea to write it down and make it permanent, also relieving the recipient of any embarrassment and awkwardness in the process. Unfortunately as I am an extremely busy person (or just because I fall on the lazier end of the scale) I haven’t got round to it. Yet.

My motivation has been given a boost, however, by finding One Million Lovely Letters, a project by Jodi Ann Bickley. After suffering from a brain infection, she had to learn to walk and write again and found herself unable to leave the house with a lot of time to spare. Instead of dwelling on her pain she decided to try and help cheer others up by writing them lovely letters to inspire, motivate, and remind them of their amazingness.

I found her story so moving and her idea very touching. I love the idea of an actual, physical letter on some great stationery, rather than a tweet or an e-mail. The least I can do is write and send a few letters to my loved ones, I just hope they don’t come out too saccharine or soppy as I’ve never written a love(ly) letter before.

Have you ever written love letters, romantic or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

